Gold Recovery Equipment
Gold Rush Trading Post

Don't like seeing these ads? DONATE today and help keep OGH ad free!

Willamette River area gold?

Mineral and Gold Locations by county.

Willamette River area gold?

Postby willamettegold1 on Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:24 am

HI, IM NEW TO GOLD HUNTING AND I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR A PLACE TO GO, PERFERABLY AROUND THE WEST LINN AREA? ANY GOLD IN THE WILLAMETTE RIVER? ANYTHING WILL HELP. THANKS
willamettegold1
Cave Dweller

Re: Willamette River area gold?

Postby fishing4gold on Wed Feb 23, 2011 8:47 am

Hey willamettegold1 - welcome to OGH - read the forums - I think the Mollala would be your best bet for something close - good luck!
Ponder this when you find that shine of gold in your pan. . .you are the first to have touched it!
fishing4gold
49er

Postby PNWoutdoors on Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:52 am

I found gold in the Willamette at Salem over the weekend. I found about 20 colors total, including 1 small flake (all the rest was speck flour gold).

I was on a gravel bar on the inside of a large curve. I dug on the downstream side of a mound formed by a clump of willows and piled up gravel. All the gold I found was from the surface down to 18 inches, and from 18 inches down to 3 feet I found nothing at all.

This was only my second time out panning, so I guess even if you are a beginner you can find some color in the Willamette.
Gold mining videos and more!
****http://www.youtube.com/user/PNWSam****

Check out the "Gold Hunters" community on Google+
https://plus.google.com/communities/116312167219733731628
PNWoutdoors
49er

Postby fishing4gold on Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:11 pm

I have heard that there is gold to be found - but the overburden is so thick. . .and it usually is fine stuff. . .
Ponder this when you find that shine of gold in your pan. . .you are the first to have touched it!
fishing4gold
49er

Postby PNWoutdoors on Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:19 pm